Convex Hull

Evgeny Pokhilko's Weblog

I read about the problem of finding Convex Hull in Algorithm Design Manual and knew that the complexity should be N for points sorted by one coordinate. Before reading about existing solutions I determined to find my own. “Invent the wheel” in other words. I spent hours thinking about a solution. In the end I found one:

I have a collection containing convex hull points. It is an stl::list. It’s empty at the beginning. I loop through points sorted by x. So I move from left to right of the picture. At the end of processing each point I maintain the algorithm invariant in which the list contains the convex hull of the points processed so far.  If you imagine this visually, it’s like putting a deflated balloon on an object from left to right.

When I process a point, I calculate if it’s on the top edge of the…

View original post 242 more words

Standard

Leave a Reply

